Q: What can I expect to happen to me on my first DUI?
A: If it the first DUI ever (no prior contacts of any kind), the typical offer from most prosecutors is a deferred sentence, which is probation. There will be fines and costs as well as a drug and alcohol assessment, a victim’s impact panel, and DUI school. Your license is also at risk. See “Driver’s License FAQ’s” for more information.
Q: How much does a DUI cost?
A: How much a DUI costs depends on some factors such as which court it is in and facts of the case. A municipal court DUI will typically cost you less overall compared to the charges being filed in a county courthouse. The attorney fee will also typically differ based on where the case is and what the facts are. A good DUI defense attorney will evaluate your case prior to quoting you a fee. This is why I will give each prospective client a free 30 minute initial consultation. Each case is truly different. As for fines, court costs, and classes, here is an example of typical expenses for Oklahoma County cases: $200 fine, $300 VCA (Victim’s Compensation Assessment fund), $800 estimated court cost, $160 drug and alcohol assessment, $50 VIP (Victim Impact Panel), and $150 for 10 hour DUI School. Total: $1,660.
Q: When does a DUI get charged as a felony? Am I looking at prison time if it is charged as a felony?
A: In Oklahoma, in order for a DUI or APC to be charged a felony, the person must have a prior conviction for a DUI or APC within 10 years. Beginning November 1, 2011, a deferred sentence on a DUI will be treated as a conviction for the purpose of enhancing the next DUI/APC charge to a felony. It will be even more important then to hire an attorney to evaluate your case. All felony DUI’s carry the potential of prison time. 1st: 1-5 yrs; 2nd: 1-10 yrs, 3rd: 1-20 yrs. They can also require more extensive courses which cost more. But whether or not a person will be offered probation versus any jail time will depend on the history of the person, the facts of the case, and which court the case is in.
ALL INFORMATION ON THIS WEBSITE IS GIVEN FOR INFORMATIONAL PURPOSES ONLY. THIS DOES NOT CREATE ANY ATTORNEY-CLIENT RELATIONSHIP. If you have questions or are seeking any legal advice, you must make an appointment and meet with me. First 30-minute consultation is free.